Tutorial transcription editor (en)
Scope of transcription editor
Whether or not a text has to be transcribed or a recognized text to be corrected, especially historic literature is very demanding on human transcriptors and proofreaders. These are particularly based on special characters and abbreviations that doesn't exist on regular computer keyboards.
Unicode-equivalents and the applicable digital print types have to be defined in advance and manually transfered into the transcripting text. Errors and irregularities are inevitable if they are not prevented by means of a wise working environment and well-defined workflow.
Furthermore, the staff hierarchy of many projects of transcribition requires a user management that allows, e.g. "correcting the correcture" by qualified staff. The development of Narragonien digital serves the requirements by means of an intuitive and operating system-independend web-based user interface.
The transcription editor enables the creation of exact character matching transcriptions in a controlled environment including the verification of correct encoding, full check about data (scans and electronic texts), as well as the consequently usage of MUFI-Fonts for special character encoding.
A hierachical system of user privileges allows the inclusion of student assistants and seminar participants.
- Web appliacation
- Technology Java EE mit GlassFish-Server
- CKEditor based surface
- MUFI-unicodes and -fonts for transcriptions
- User account control with permission management
Access to the editor
After adaption and activation für the respective project, the transcription editor is available. In order to work with the editor, you need a password-protected account.
Different security roles can be allocated to your user account:
- Gäste/Guests can watch allocated pages in the editor, but they may not edit them (currently not available)
- Mitarbeiter/collaborator may watch opus as well as single text pages and edit when allocated by the coordinator.
- Koordinatoren/Coordinators may edit any text just as any number of text as well as assigning opus and single textpages for editing to selective collaborator.
- Administratoren/administrators have the same privileges like collaboratores Additionally, the have privileges to access further system settings of the editor and the whole web environment.
Access to user and privileges management is only accessible for administrators and coordinators. By clicking on Administration/administration -> Benutzerverwaltung/user management an overview about all registered users ist opened.
Every entry may be edited by clicking on Bearbeiten/edit or deleted out of the database by clicking on Entfernen/remove. New users can be added by clicking on Hinzufügen/add.
The document administration is also only accessible to Administratoren/administrators and Koordinatoren/Coordinators. Furthermore, adding new opus is also only available to Administratoren/administrators and requires writing permissions to the servers directory.
By means of document management, user may edit the works and their corresponding meta data, if the are permitted to.
By clicking on Hinzufügen/add, an input mask to create a new opus appears. Metadata fields that are marked by a joker-sign ( * ) are to be filled-up in order to save the entity. Other fields are optionally. If print types and depositories are to be linked during the creation of an opus, they have to be created in advance in tabs Drucktypen/print types or Aufbewahrungsorte, respectively.
- Tabular overview: In this menu item you see a tabular overview of all opus. By clicking on the Spalten/columns botton, you may configure the shown columns by yourself. You may display important metadata, if you miss any.
- Edit metadata: Otherwise you can see the complete metadata of a work by clicking on Bearbeiten/edit. Now you can also choose the type inventory needed for transcribing (see below).
- Assign scans: If you have the permissions of a coordinator, you can call up the scan list by clicking on the button right next to the Bearbeiten/edit button. For that purpose, select the corresponding scans and click on Mitarbeiter zuweisen/assign to collaborator. Now a listing of project collaborator opens. Choose the collaborator and confirm your choice by clicking on Zuweisung/assign. Assignments that are already selected, can be removed by clicking on Zuweisung entfernen/remove assignment. Subsequently, you can save the changes by clicking on Speichern/save.
This view shows an overview about all print types installed on the system.
By clicking on the Hinzufügen/add button, an input mask opens in order to create a new print type. Metadata fields marked with an asterisk must be filled in order to save the entity. Any other fields are optional. Glyphs can be added either when a print type is created or afterwards.
Create and link of a glyph set happens in 2 steps:
- First of all a Unicode-formatted csv-file that contains all glyphs to be linked needs to be created. For symbols that consist of two Unicodes, both of them have to be written in the same line sepearated by a tabulator.
- In the input mask, the csv-file now may be chosen to create a new print type in section "Glyphensatz/glyph set and uploaded.
Edit an existing print type: By clicking the Bearbeiten/edit-button, the input mask for editing the chosen print type opens. The shown fields and functions are the same as in the input mask when creating a print type.
Remove an existing print type:
By clicking on the split-button menu Entfernen/remove, the confirmation dialogue to remove the chosen print type opens.
Display and edit a list of glyphs: By clicking the split-button menu Glyphenliste/List of glyphs, the dialogue to display of the assigned glyphs opens.
Edit the glyphs: The unicodes of the glyphs can be edited seperated of each other by clicking on the affecting unicode.
Mark as special sign: The checkbox in the column Sonderzeichen/special sign shows if the glyphs in the spread sheet of special signs assigned to the type of the opus, may be shown or not.
'Remove glyphe The recycle bin in the last column allows the erasure of the corresponding glyphe.
Work with the editor
Selection of glyphs
For selection of required special glyphs, there are currently two buttons with different layout available. One for vertical selection on the edge, the other one as a keyboard-like cross-fading. You may decide for you own which of them you may work more comfortable. The functions are both the same. By clicking on the relevant glyph, text will be inserted at the current position of the cursor. The available glyphs may be adapted in the metadata of the opus before.
From draft to release
The work with the editor is made for collaboration of collaborants, e.g. student assistants, and coordinators as supervision authority. Collaborants may edit the assinged transcriptions, save as draft or transmit the concluding release candidate to the appropriate coordinator. Coordinators may accept the proposal or send it back for revision.
By clicking on Speichern/save or Entwurf/draft, you can save you work. If you are of the mind that you have transcribed the text correctly or found all faults, you may define your editing as release candidate. In this case, the status changes to "release candidate". If you are collaborant, the scan is locked for further editing until a coordinator has examined the work.
As coordinator, you decide either to decline the release candidate. In this case, the text is marked as Abgelehnt/declined and submitted for re-edit. If you choose Abbrechen/abort, the text is marked as Abgelehnt/declined and not submitted once again.
Als Koordinator können Sie sich entscheiden, den Release-Kandidat wieder abzulehnen. In diesem Fall wird der Text als Abgelehnt gekennzeichnet und erneut zur Bearbeitung vorgelegt. Wählen sie die Option Abbrechen, wird der Text dagegen nicht erneut vorgelegt. Wenn Sie mit der Bearbeitung des Textes zufrieden sind, können Sie den Release-Kandidaten als korrekte Version bestätigen.
Egal, ob Sie den Text abgelehnt, abgebrochen, oder bestätigt haben: Als Koordinator können Sie den Text jederzeit erneut als Entwurf einstufen. Darüber hinaus besitzen Koordinatoren alle Bearbeitungsrechte, die auch Mitarbeiter besitzen, und können Korrekturen jederzeit auch in Eigenregie vornehmen.